2014 Goals.

I’ve got a whole lot of goals for 2014 and I thought it would be nice to share some of them here and track my progression.  Since there are 12 months in year, I’ve decided to center many of my goals around this number.  The year of twelves.  Reflecting on the past year, I realized that I want to get out and explore the city and surrounding area even more than I already have.  For the most part, my social calendar consists of going to Evan’s shows.  In all honesty, I spend a lot of time at home because I know Evan will only be here for short bursts in between his busy schedule.  But for this year, I want to spend more time focused on learning more and getting out there for me.  And get married too….because that’s happening.  Actually, Evan and I will be pretty MIA for the entire month of July due to the wedding and honeymoon, so I should really have probably made my goals to do 11 of each, but where’s the fun in that?

Here are the things I want to do in twelves:

– Try 12 new to me restaurants
– Read 12 books
– Go on 12 hikes
– Visit 12 art/cultural/social centers or events in the city
– And, to divide things up a bit, I also would like to run 3 races this year.

I have some other professional and personal goals as well.  Like to actually sit down and start working on some articles as well as to join some sort of professional or community-based organization.  I think for the past few years I “hibernated” because I had to finish my thesis and I needed to spend some time figuring myself out.  But I feel like I’ve got a pretty good handle on who I am and where I want to go.  All that’s left is to do it!  So here’s to an exciting, adventurous, less hibernate-y year.

top pot donuts

Oh! And to top it off, I’ve already finished one book this year… The People of Darkness by Tony Hillerman.  A very quick and dramatic read.  I enjoyed it very much!

Leave a Reply

