The No Poo Method

I’ve had several people asking me about how the “No Poo” method has actually been working for me & how I do it.  So I thought I would share a little update.  In case you’re wondering, “No Poo” means I am not using either shampoo or conditioner to clean my hair.

First things first, everyone’s body, hair, & skin react completely different.  I would not be surprised if some people are able to transition faster/shorter than others and experience any host of reactions.  Just know that if yours doesn’t work exactly like mine, that’s ok!

no poo method

For the first two weeks (since I re-started) I washed my hair twice a week (Mondays & Fridays) with Dr. Bronner’s.  My results during this time weren’t the best.  My hair ended up clumpy from the soap, dried out at the tips, & crazy oily the rest of the way.  The oiliness was expected, but I thought the soap would help cut the grease.  The first few times it did help with the grease, but over time it seemed like it wasn’t doing much of anything.  This could also be because I put a little coconut oil in my hair right after week one.   I had read online that a very small amount of coconut oil can be used as  a conditioner.  I either used too much or my hair was just still too oily from the transition, who knows!  What I do know is that my hair was OILY.  I had my suspicions as to why, but I couldn’t be sure.

I should warn you that the first two weeks, even after using Dr. Bronner’s, my hair did not look great.  But I think it’s important to understand that if you decided to do this transition, that’s just part of the process.  Since your hair is used to being washed with shampoo regularly, it takes a while for your head to stop over-producing oil because shampoos dry your head/hair out.

About 2.5 weeks later, I tried the true “No Poo” method and washed my hair with baking soda & apple cider vinegar.  I cannot tell you how shocked at how amazing my hair looked!  It felt completely clean, smooth & soft.  And no, it did not smell like vinegar.

no poo method

“No Poo” Recipe:

Measurements are approximate.  I eyeballed these while in the shower.

1 tbsp baking soda

1/2 cup water

1 tbsp apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup water

Directions:

1. Get a small jar or glass.  I used a free beer tasting glass I got, about a 1/4 pint size.

2. Put in about tbsp baking soda.  Set this in or near the shower, so you can grab it.

3. Once in the shower, fill most of the way up with water & shake.  I just covered it with my hand and shook it.

4. Then pour a small amount onto the crown of our head and rub it in, almost like you’re deep conditioning.  The baking soda will not foam like regular shampoo & it may feel like you’re not really doing anything, but you are!  I then began parting my hair in several different areas on each side and the back and repeated the same technique, until I felt like i had gotten most of my head.  You should use the entire concoction.

5. I washed out the glass & poured 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar.  Again, fill up the rest of the cup with water.  Dip the tips of your hair into the cup for a few seconds, then take out.

6. Tip your head back & pour the rest on your head.

7. Wash immediately.

Transition Time:

Again, everyone’s transition time will be different!  After about 2.5 weeks, I am still transitioning.  My hair is definitely getting better, but it’s taking some time.  My co-worker has successfully transitioned to the No Poo method & it took her about 2 months.  I’ll let you know when I think I’m fully transitioned.  I’m expecting it to be a solid 2 months for me.  Keep in mind that I was shampooing every other if not every day before starting, so may hair was getting maximum shampoo time!  Just transitioning to cleaning it 2 days a week has been tough.

Notes & Thoughts:

– When I was putting the baking soda, I felt like I was really tangling my hair because of all the scalp rubbing.  But then I used the vinegar & my hair became smooth and silky. So be sure to use both parts!

– Obviously your hair will not feel the exact same as when you use shampoo and conditioner.  That’s because there aren’t all of the chemicals in it to make it “feel” perfect.

– I’m not sure I would really do anything differently so far.  The first two weeks were a little gross feeling, but that’s just part of the process.

– While I wasn’t getting my desired effect with Dr. Bronner’s, it did help me transition, so I don’t really regret trying it out.  I could still see it being beneficial to use in the future.

– Don’t put any oil in your hair for the first 2-4 weeks.

– I’m not sure what to do about friz.

**Update**

I am now somewhere around 4-5 weeks in!  I have seen a major turn around in my hair after switching to the baking soda/vinegar washing twice a week.  First of all, my hair looks great after every wash and stay looking nice/not oily for 3 full days.  I feel like I’ve turned a corner.  I’ll let you know how it continues to progress!

QUESTIONS? COMMENTS? THOUGHTS ON THE NO POO METHOD?  LET ME KNOW!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. jackiraivo says:

    Oh I’ve wanted to try this for so long but I’ve been leery of the transition time. Great post!

  2. How’s it going now? I started last Saturday and I’ve washed 4 times now with Dr. Bronner’s and ACV rinse. My hair feels awful but I’m toughing it out. I think I need to switch to the baking soda rinse and see how that works. I’ve read that the ACV helps work as a detangler but my hair is LONG and it does not help detangle. I’m almost in tears as I brush my hair out. I’m hoping the baking soda helps.

    1. Julia says:

      I’m sorry to hear you’re in pain. I think you should try baking soda and ACV and see how that feels. The baking soda made my hair light & airy. I’ve since stopped doing this and switched to all natural shampoo and conditioner. I’m going to write a update in a week or so to talk about my decision to switch. But I still clean with baking soda and ACV about once a week just to clean my hair of build up. Again, so sorry, I know tangled hair is the worst!

Leave a Reply

