Creamy (Dairy Free) Chicken & Wild Rice Soup

20130909-200043.jpg

I was looking for a simple soup recipe, something hearty that would allow for several vegetables and some protein. I wanted a filling soup that would fuel me after a run or feed my mid-day hunger pains. I wanted it to be dairy and gluten free. Thus, I landed on this soup. I really enjoyed it and it is the most simple soup you could make. I’ve read online that you don’t have to cook the chicken beforehand, but I did, just to be one the safe side.  This soup is very versatile.  You could add some dark leafy greens, beans, other root veggies or really anything you like!  You could make it meat-free or  add some spice or other herbs for some extra flavor.  The secret to this recipe is light coconut milk added in the last 30 minutes of cooking, replacing the heavy cream normally found in these types of soups.  Once cooked, you can smell the coconut milk slightly, but it is not sweet at all! I promise. Instead, the soup becomes thicker and smooth.

20130909-200058.jpg


Servings:
10
Serving Size: 1.5 cups
Calories per Serving: approx. 140
Protein per Serving: approx. 14 g
Inspired by Food.com

1 yellow onion, chopped
4-6 stalks celery, chopped
4-6 carrots, chopped
1 lb. chicken breast
1 lb. potatoes (I used the bag of ‘teeny tiny potatoes’ from Trader Joe’s)
1/2 c. wild rice
1/4 t. powered garlic
2 tsp. boullion (I use Better than Boullion Organic Chicken Base concentrate found at Whole Foods)
5-6 c. water
3 bay leaves
1 can light coconut milk
salt to taste
pepper to taste

optional: fresh parsley sprinkled on top for a pop of flavor

The night before: Chop the onion, celery and carrots. Store in a sealed container in the fridge. Cook the chicken breasts in a frying pan, no oil necessary. Cook lightly, about 2-3 minutes on each side. Does not have to be perfectly cooked since it will be cooking all day tomorrow. Store in a sealed container in the fridge.

Next morning: Get out your crockpot, throw in the chopped veggies, potatoes and rice (I did not cut the potatoes). Take the chicken out of the fridge and cut into ½ inch chunks or shred with a fork. Place in crockpot. Add rice, garlic, boullion, bay leaves and water. I put in enough water so that everything was just barely covered. Place on the 8 hour cook option.


That evening:
When you get home from work or about 30 minutes before you’d like to eat, throw in the coconut milk & give it a stir. Allow to simmer for the next thirty minutes (Or, if you’re like me, the next 2 hours). Serve. Add salt & pepper to taste.

20130909-200104.jpg

I really liked the extra flavor the fresh parsley (from my “garden”) added to the soup! I highly recommend it if you have some. I put my “garden” in quotes because I live in a tiny apartment with an alley way in the back. Thus, my garden space includes a few random pots of herbs. I’d really love to expand someday, maybe even making one of those wooden pallet gardens.

20130909-200051.jpg

I served this soup with a giant side of steamed broccoli. Enjoy!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love creamy soups and this looks so good. I’d love to have this for dinner.

    1. Julia says:

      It’s really tasty & super simple to throw together in a rush!

  2. notesonawire says:

    I’m so excited that it’s getting closer to soup weather…this looks so yummy!

Leave a Reply

