Roasted Cucumber & Smoked Salmon Sandwich.

on

So I had this epifany today…

I realized that we really did have it good in high school.  If I could spend my day compartmentalized into subjects, it would be way more entertaining.  While walking to work from the bus this morning, I remembered how I would start the days off in band.  Not talking, but creating something.  To be fair I was never very good at playing the french horn, but I enjoyed getting to a part of something every morning.  I miss those days.  Also, while we all hated gym in high school, I wish I had a 50 minute block every day just for that.  Anyways, these thoughts made me realize that I want to wake up in the morning and do something creative.  Not just roll out of bed, get ready for work and let the day take me.  Clearly this is easier said than done for me but I keep thinking that if I could have 50 minutes of high school band every morning, the days would be a little bit better.  Life is also better with the sandwich that this post is really about, so….

Are you prepared to read about the most amazing sandwich of my life?

roasted cucumber and smoked salmon sandwich

I was perusing the usual blogs, when I saw a post about roasting veggies.  I have been doing this more recently and have really, I mean, really enjoyed the results.  Roasting is so simple, but easily forgotten when you’re thinking about a delicious, flavorful meal.  But roasting in and of itself is extremely delicious and flavorful.  So I headed to my refrigerator to see what I could possibly roast.

What I found was a miracle in waiting.  A cucumber.

cut cucumber

I know what you’re thinking…. WHAT?! A CUCUMBER?  I say yes.

cucumber on pan

I immediately googled roasted cucumber to make sure I wasn’t crazy and that it could be done.  The results kept showing a roasted cucumber sandwich and one with salmon.  I knew exactly what I had to do.  I had purchased some smoked salmon last week at the Asian market and was waiting for the right meal to use it.  I followed all my impulses of what would make this epic and it did not disappoint.

Roasted Cucumber & Smoked Salmon Sandwich (with a side of potato rounds) -Print it here!

Prep Time: 5 min

Cook Time: 20 min

Ingredients:

1/2 cucumber

3 red potatoes

1/4 tsp. olive oil

2 slices wheat bread, toasted

2 oz. salmon

1 handful of lettuce or spinach

salt

pepper

dill

crushed red pepper

Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 375 (my oven is small and gets insanely hot, if you have a regular oven, I would try 425).

2. Cut cucumber into 1/2 inch slices and the potato to slim 1/4 slivers.

potato rounds on pan

3. Lay out cucumber and potatoes in a single layer on cookie sheet. Cover with a light layer of olive oil.  On cucumber: sprinkle salt, pepper, dill, and crushed red pepper to your liking.  On potato: sprinkle salt, pepper, and red pepper.

pan of food

4. Cook for 10 minutes, then take out of oven and flip.  Cook for another 10 minutes.

cooked veggies

5.  When the veggies have 2 minutes left to roast, toast bread.  Wash and dry lettuce.

6.  Create sandwich.  I recommend lettuce on bottom, salmon in the middle and cucumber on top.  Place potato chips on the side.

smoked salmon

The cucumber when roasted has a similar texture to cooked eggplant.  When combined with the smoky flavor of the salmon, the crunchiness of the lettuce, and the hint of dill and heat from the red pepper- perfection is abound.  I noticed that most roasted cucumber sandwiches include mayonnaise and kind of an egg salad sandwich effect.  Let me tell you simple is better.  This sandwich is better.  Do not trust the mayo.

sandwich

I love heat in my food.  To me it makes flavor pop and your mouth feel full and happy.  This sandwich, especially with the warm side of homemade potatoes, felt like I was eating at a gourmet eatery.  This is what I’m saying about roasting.  The veggies, cooked to perfection with the right spice and heat is probably the tastiest thing ever.  The best part is that there is a limitless amount of ways to make them, all roasted, with different spices and combinations.

cooked potato rounds

Next, I will have to explain to you my die-hard, relentless love for roasted mushrooms.

Leave a Reply

