Cinnamon Rolled Oat Muffins

Hold the phone people.  I think I just made my first baking recipe that is actually good!

Cinnamon rolled oat muffins

I’ve been making a lot of muffins lately.  The cooler weather here in Seattle makes me only want to eat muffins and soup.  So far my muffins have included banana chocolate chip, pumpkin chocolate chip (which is super tasty), and a failed attempt at chocolate chocolate chip muffins.  Tonight I wanted something with a little cinny (cinnamon) but nice and thick to make you feel like you’ve really just ate something.  That’s when I consulted some of my favorite blogs, along with a google search to see just what kinds of proportions of flour, liquid, etc. actually work.  The end result has been my very first successful baking recipe!

Cinnamon Rolled Oat Muffins (Yields 12 muffins)

1/2 c. all purpose flour

1 c. whole wheat flour

1 c. rolled oats

1 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 c. brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg (optional)

1/2 tsp. salt

1 egg (can substitute 1 tbsp flax seed with 3 tbsp water mixed together until thick, then add to other ingredients)

3/4 c. milk (I had cow’s milk, but any type will do!)

1/4 maple syrup

1 tsp. vanilla

ingredients for muffins

I forgot the maple syrup in the ingredients photo, so here you go!

maple syrup

1) Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

2) Mix all of the dry ingredients together.

dry ingredients

(Is it just me or does this bowl make it look like you are being sucked into a secret vortex where only delicious baked goods exist!)

3) Mix all the wet ingredients together in a separate bowl.

wet ingredients

4) Combine wet and dry.  Be sure not to over mix.  Feel free to add raisins, nuts, dried fruit or anything else that sounds delicious!

5) Using a 1/4 measuring cup filled halfway, pour the mixture into the muffin pan.

muffins

6) Bake for 15-18 minutes.

muffins

Then they should come out looking like this!!  So delicious and thick.  The oats provide a texture that is almost bran-like but they taste oh so good.  I think these are just what a chilly Seattle day needs!

muffins in pan

I have eaten two of them while writing this post.  I like how these muffins are mostly wheat flour since I’ve been trying to cut back on the amount of white flour I use in baked goods.  It’s not good for you, which I already knew but after reading this book, I now know why.

chill out and get healthy

(source)

I got it soon after I moved to Long Beach but once school started I had no motivation to read books for fun anymore.  But then my ex-roomie Brittany, (aww I miss her!!) started reading this book and became hooked.  It made me pick it up again and I’ve reading parts of it every night for the past week.  Anyway, Aimee, the author, is an acupuncturist and Chinese Medicine practitioner.  She talks about how many things going on with our body that may seem normal or uncontrollable may actually be caused by our diet.  Some examples include pimples, bloating, how many times you go to the bathroom, the color of your pee and lots of other random stuff.  She also includes a lot of writing exercises about dealing with stress, managing your priorities and much, much more.  I think that if I directly followed everything she says in the book, I would be a much healthier and less-stressed me!  She also provides examples of women she’s helped that have problems similar to what most of us women experience.  It’s been really interesting to learn what is normal for a body and what isn’t.  One of the most interesting things I learned was that there are a lot of foods that are hard for your body to digest, which means they back up in your system and then it just sits and stews….inside of you….  OK. I’m now realizing that this discussion is not the best one for a muffin post!  But seriously, check out this book.

Back to the muffins….

muffins

After eating one of these muffins, I immediately sent Evan this text…

text message

So all in all I’m very proud of my accomplishment today of making these muffins.  Because of Landmark (this educational forum I’m doing) and my decision to lead a happier, less-stressed life, it’s the small things like baking my first successful muffin recipe that make me really happy.  In my Landmark group we email each other everyday with three things we are grateful for.  I’d like to share them with you:

1) The space heater.  Probably the most used appliance in our house.

2) Getting to talk to my mom yesterday for a long time.

3) The halloween card from Angela.  Because I LOVE snail mail.  It makes me feel special 🙂

What are you grateful for?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Evan says:

    4 hours later, I’m coming home for the muffins! And sleeping. Mostly the muffins.

  2. Karen Wignall says:

    I am thankful for being able to read my daughter’s post at 5:30 in the morning and smiling with a little tear in my eye. I am so proud of her! Her blog looks professional, she has an uncanny ability of capturing amazing views with her camera and she is passionate about life. Who could ask for more.

    I am also thankful it is Friday. I fill like it has been a long month this week. My mother used to say that:) I am also thankful that Jim has been able to spend time with his parents, but I will be thankful when he comes home tomorrow.

  3. Karen Wignall says:

    Oops I feel like…. I didn’t edit before I posted.

Leave a Reply

