Food Tour of Greece

As many of you know I spent last week with my madre as well as Kaitie and Deb in GREECE!  It was amazing to experience everything we saw, ate, smelled, touched, and heard.  I hope by adding these photos, you can enjoy some of the food that I did!

Mussels in a delicious tomato sauce.

Moussaka, a traditional Greek dish that includes eggplant, ground beef spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg, and a potato/cheese topping.  Seriously amazing.

Circular bread things covered in sesame seeds.  Street snacks.

The bread almost has a kind of sweetness to it.  These ones were good, but the ones in Turkey were better.

I didn’t try these but just the fact that fresh coconut is a street food option in Greece makes me love it!

Greek coffee and biscuit.

Similar to Italian coffee in that it was an espresso sized drink.  Super strong and thick.  It felt gritty in my teeth.

Deb’s stuffed peppers.


Pasticcio.  Similar to moussaka only with pasta instead of eggplant.

Rice balls.  I don’t actually think these are Greek, but the served them on the ship.  They are filled with risotto and cheese.  They were so light and fluffy and delicious!

Yummy pastries on Mykonos.

Welcome treat on Patmos.

Iced latte on Patmos.

Of course, more baklava.

I was clearly all into the sweets!  This had a very light annis taste, not offense or strong like black licorice.

Giant Greek beer that I can’t remember the name of…

Another giant thing…. greek yogurt desert with honey.  This was in Rhodes.  Seriously the best. thing. ever.  I feel hard for this stuff over the week.

Wine tasting in Crete.

Hard bread with tomato and seasoning on top.  This bread is typical in Crete.  It was really good.

Crete sampler plate (from top left and clockwise): donut type thing with honey on top, Crete cheese, raki (alcoholic beverage made out of grapes), cheese pie, greek yogurt, spinach pie, and small local olives.

So simple. Sesame seeds and Greek thyme honey.  I think I might start making these.  soooooo yummy!

Kaitie bought these pistachios at the Athens market for us.  As you can see, they have a red tint to them, something I haven’t seen before.  They have such a distinct flavor that I have never tasted before.  I will miss having such fresh pistachios available.

As you can tell, I pretty much loved all the tastes of Greece that I discovered.  Real meals were consumed, although from these photos it looks like I just snacked the whole time!   So I figure what better way to end this food/beverage tour with a photo of me drinking a glass of wine on the top of Santorini overlooking the basin of an old volcano.  If it’s not conveyed in this photo, I was very much enjoying the moment.  Life is good 🙂

4 Comments Add yours

  1. cassandra says:

    how fabulous julia! it looks like you had a wonderful trip! great photos. I am glad you fell in love with greek yogurt with honey–it’s one of my favorites, too!

  2. Jim Wignall says:

    I’ve heard good things about the rice balls. I’m working on perfecting my own recipe. Great pics!

  3. angelina says:

    those risotto cheese balls look delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

