Roasted Tofu and Green Beans

I was dying to try one of the recipes in my new cookbook, Clean Food.  Unfortunately for me, the three bean chili will have to wait until tomorrow since the beans need to soak overnight.  I know there are short cuts, but I’ve never made beans from scratch and I wanted to do it the long way.  So, in liew, i am making the roasted tofu with green beans.  I bought ingredients today for the chili, this dish, and orange ginger tofu (yummmmm).

Here are all of the ingredients.

What I like about these dishes is that they are honestly not that hard.  This one is just a matter of mixing it all together and throwing it in the oven.  A plus of this dish is that I used hardly any kitchen utensils.  Since I do not have a dish washer, not using many dishes makes me and my kitchen happy.  For utensils I used, 1 cutting board, 1 knife, 1 tsp., 1 1/4  measuring cup, a mixing spoon, and of course the pan.  Not too bad.  Here’s what it looked like before I put it in the oven.

Here’s after.

Result. Delicious. So good.  The leek combined with the liquid aminos actually tastes kind of nutty to me and adds an amazing aroma to the dish.  The recipe called for cremini mushrooms, which I couldn’t find so instead I used baby portabellas.  They were a great choice. I added some brown rice to my dish because I had some left over from the rice cooker in the fridge that needed to be eaten.

After all my shopping today, I was curious to know how much this dish actually cost me.  Sometimes when I’m shopping all the extra sauces, oils, and vinegars make me shy away from making certain dishes.  So I dug out all my receipts and addded it up.  For the oil, liquid aminos, and seasoning I guessed how much I used and made a cost based on the price of the entire thing.

Cost of Dish:

Green beans $2.68

Baby portabellas $2.49

Garlic $.50

Organic Leeks $2.97

Tofu $.98

Olive Oil $.10

Bragg’s Liquid Aminos $.21

Seasoning $0 ( i didn’t even use enough to calculate)

Total: $9.93 (4 servings) = $2.48 per serving

I don’t know where you can get this much food for $2.50.

What’s great about this recipe is that it is easy to change by simply changing which veggies you use.  Thus, even more bang for your buck because you can use the liquid aminos and seasoning again and again at no additional cost.  Liquid aminos is just a natural soy protein that can be used as a soy sauce alternative.  So it can be used for all sorts of dishes.  All in all, I’d say win.

My goal is to make one new recipe out of this cookbook every week because what else is the point of owning a cookbook?  All I have to say is that if every recipe is as good as this one, I’m in for a great year!

p.s. I’ve already eaten 5 clementines today and I’m about to go grab one or two more for dessert. 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Hilarie Kelly says:

    Tantalizing! Can you post the recipe? Where did you get orange ginger tofu? You can usually get Crimini mushrooms at Trader Joes.

  2. Carla says:

    I have a bag of clementines in my fridge as well…I think I’ll have another one!

Leave a Reply

