Cherry Almond White Chocolate Cookies

Yum!

I used this recipe and modified it a bit.

Ingredients:

2 cups flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 cup room temperature unsalted butter

3/4 cup finely chopped maraschino cherries

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

3 tsp almond extract

1/4 almond slivers

Icing:

White Chocolate Chips

1 tsp almond extract

1 tsp water

To Prepare:

Preheat your oven to 325 degrees.  Find a bowl… if you don’t currently have a bowl, improvise.

Mix the flour and sugar together and mix in the butter.  This may be difficult if you don’t have a mixer…

While a let the butter sit a little longer so it would be easier to mix, I cut up the cherries.

Your fingers will probably look like this afterwards…

Next, mix in the white chocolate chips, cherries, and almond extract.  I like things super almond-y so if you don’t, I suggest using less almond extract.

Roll into 3/4 inch balls.  Then take a drinking glass with a flat bottom, put water on it and then dip it in sugar.  Press down on each ball so the cookies are flat ( I also lightly greased the pan even though I don’t really think you need to).

Cook for 12-16 minutes.  Let cool.  While they are cooling, make the icing.  I melted the rest of the white chocolate chips in the microwave.  Heating them up for 20 seconds at a time until they were finished to prevent burning.  If I were to make these again, I would leave the chocolate alone and make it the topping rather than adding the almond extract.  For some reason it made the chocolate harden up and then I felt like I needed to add some butter to soften it up. Instead I added water because I didn’t want to add any more butter to the recipe.  The end result wasn’t that great.  It separated a bit and was weird.  I haven’t made my own frosting in years, but they would be good as well.  Also, the cookies were a little too crumbly, they could use maybe an egg or applesauce.  Just something to keep them together better.  I love how they look. They almost look like peppermint bark cookies or something.   Don’t forget to top them with almond slivers!  Enjoy!

Hopefully my suggestions will help you and me make the perfect cookie 🙂

I cleaned allllll day yesterday.  Deep, deep cleaning.  And then a made an absolute mess of my kitchen again today.  Figures.  Here’s a picture of my clean bathroom.  Random?  Is it weird seeing someone’s bathroom?

Now it’s time for me to work… my goal is to write descriptions for at least 50 articles today.  Then off to deep cleaning party number two.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks awesome! I like things super-almondy too,

  2. Karen says:

    These look great! Your dad thinks so too.

  3. Chapstick says:

    wow! Those look yummy! You are becoming quite the cook. Maybe sometime you can make me pancakes!

Leave a Reply

