Busy, busy

Finals are next week and so much needs to get done before then.  I don’t really have much to update on other than the fact that I am slowly working away at all of my school work.  I haven’t taken a single picture recently and frankly, don’t have anything to take pictures of, so this is going to be a really boring post.  I figured I would start writing a list of some of the things I’m currently involved in.  I know everyone knows I’m busy, but I think a lot of people wonder what the heck I’m doing all the time.

*President of our Anthropology Graduate Student Association- which involves a lot of planning, organizing, and beaucratic b.s.  I’ve organized 6 events so far this semester.

*Working on a mini documentary about Free Yoga in Long Beach

*Helping to write a grant for Cambodia Town, Inc.

*Archive Research Assistant for the Cambodian Community History & Archive Project

*Recently presented at the American Anthropological Association

*Applied for 3 separate grants for funding to go to the AAA (so far 2 have been accepted) which entales going to meetings and defending myself (fun, fun!)

*Submitted an abstract to present on my own research at the Society for Applied Anthropology in Seattle in March

*Attending meetings and helping to organize a mini documentary with my research group

*Trying to help pass the Dream Act and get the word out there

*Wrote an article for the Southwestern Applied Anthropology newsletter

*TRYING my best to get this freaking pain in my side proposal done

And there’s more, I wish I could say that was the end.  I’ve felt like I really wasted a lot of time this semester, but when I look back at all that I accomplished, I can’t think of it as a failure, but just a different kind of semester.

I cannot wait for break.  I want to bask in the glory of one last winter break where I can spend it with family, knitting, relaxing and just having plain old fun.

Anyways, one last filming session tomorrow morning bright and early.  Then editing and work for the rest of the day 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Chapstick says:

    I like your blog 🙂 I should start one called musicfoodie!

Leave a Reply

