Cleansing

After a long dark winter in Seattle, I cannot think of a better way to celebrate spring and taking a stand for my health than a cleanse.  I’m not using any sort of commercial or juicing cleanse.  It’s made up by me with a few suggestions from my yoga (and ayurvedic knowledgeable) friend.

My plan is to do it for a week, but depending on how I feel, I might do it longer.  The jist: I will be in-taking only fruits and vegetables, with small portions of lentils, turkey and possibly a little brown rice.  This may seem like a regular week for some, but recently I had the realization that my body is addicted to fatty, starchy foods.  When your body feels like it can digest macaroni and cheese everyday but gets easily upset by a light, kale salad; there’s something wrong.  Or at least that’s how I feel about my body.  Maybe what I’m doing isn’t even really a cleanse, but more of a time to really pay attention to what I am putting in my mouth and how it makes me feel.  The goal is that my body will start to feel the benefits of eating healthier and start to need more leafy greens, fruits, etc.  Feeling dependent on breads and fatty foods is bumming me & my body out.  Hence, the “cleanse”.

I will be journaling everyday throughout the day just to make sure I’m regularly checking-in with my body.  It does the double duty of giving me time to reflect on how my body feels as well as keeping me honest by talking about what I’m eating.

Anyways, a few things about the cleanse and my day so far…

Mighty-O Donuts

While I’m starting this whole cleanse today I did begin my morning with the last 1.5 of these donuts.  I tried them for the first time this weekend after hearing so many Seattlites rave about them.  So. Freaking. Good.

Ballard Farmer's Market

I then made my way to the Ballard Farmer’s Market to pick up some fresh, local goods.  I didn’t take a photo of everything, but here’s more or less what I got: carrots, shallots, green onions, leafy green salad mix, lettuce, spinach, apples, pears, mint, and asparagus.  Then I made my way to the store and picked up the rest of my goods: cucumber, lemons, bananas, cilantro, a basil plant, oranges, strawberries, mushrooms, lentils, avocados, sunflower seeds, some turkey, tahini & some different sauces to make dressings.  This is actually a lot more food than I normally buy, so I’m interested to see how long everything lasts.  I figured I needed to be prepared!

Water with cucumber & mint

I immediately went home and prepared one of my favorite and most refreshing drinks– water with cucumber & fresh mint.  Yum!

Raw Carrot & Sunflower Seed Dip

I then prepared a dip that I think will be a staple for this week.  It’s a raw carrot & sunflower seed dip.  It is sooo good.  I’m not a huge fan of hummus, but this dip is seriously amazing.  You can check out the recipe here.  I added extra cayenne, so it’s nice and spicy without taking away from any of the other flavors.

I then made this seriously delicious smoothie! It’s strawberries, spinach, water, ice & fresh mint (only about 3 leaves).  I think fresh herbs might just be my favorite things on the planet.

Smoothie done

Here it is after it was blended.  I know it doesn’t look as appetizing, but what do you expect when you mix red and green together?  I highly recommend this combo for someone who is not quite sure about green smoothies.  The strawberries are nice & sweet, making it easier to consume.  I made a lettuce, apricot, & blueberry smoothie once and it was BITTER.  I could only stand to drink half of it before giving up.  I tried to add honey to take away a bit of the bitterness but then it just tasted fake sweet.  I am a huge fan of natural fruit sweetness.  If you need more than that, you can always add stevia, honey, etc.  but I personally do not like the added sugar flavors.

Currently, I am attempting to decide what I will eat for dinner and gather up the energy to do my workout for the night.  As it stands, day 1 feels good and I am way too excited about all the fresh food in this house!  It even inspired me to write the post (which is clearly something I haven’t felt motivated to do in a while).

tulips

I will leave you with super happy pictures of tulips!  I bought them with the remaining few dollars I had at the farmer’s market and they are beautiful!  Apparently there are some huge tulips fields about an hour north of Seattle and I’m hoping to go next weekend to check them out.  So now you know a bit of what I’m up to besides working full-time and taking down my thesis.  As such, I will also leave you with Evan and my new motto for life.  “I’m walkin and punchin.”  I hope you are too :)

tulips

 

One thought on “Cleansing

Leave a Reply

